MIECZYSŁAW WEINBERG-FESTIVAL: EXPEDITION #5

Monday, 20.5.19, 19:00
Auditorium, NS-Dokumentationszentrum München

Mieczysław Weinberg-Festival
EXPEDITION #5: Mieczysław Weinberg
A moderated chamber music concert

Musicians of the Jewish Chamber Orchestra Munich
MODERATION Daniel Grossmann

As part of Expeditions, our moderated chamber concert series in cooperation with the Munich Documentation Centre for the History of National Socialism, musicians of the Jewish Chamber Orchestra present a small excerpt from Weinberg’s huge chamber music production. Daniel Grossmann exchanges the baton for the microphone to present interesting and surprising details from Weinberg’s life and work and about the performed pieces.

MIECZYSŁAW WEINBERG FESTIVAL
2010, after the staged performance of the opera The Passenger, the story of a Holocaust survivor, which Mieczysław Weinberg set to music in 1968, a buzz went through the music world. How was this Russian composer of Jewish-Polish heritage overheard for so long? Now Weinberg can be found in the opera and orchestra programmes, but the deserving recognition of him and his work has not been given.
Weinberg is among the most important composers of the 20th century– this opinion was shared by his friend and mentor Dmitri Shostakovich. Weinberg was very productive and above all extremely versatile: 154 of his works have been preserved, including ballet, film and circus music, but also 22 symphonies, four chamber symphonies and six operas. From a simple melody with easy accompaniment to complicated twelve-tone music–experiment and tradition are not mutually exclusive for Weinberg; he mastered all musical forms, genres and styles.
The Jewish Chamber Orchestra Munich takes advantage of the 100thbirthday of this brilliant composer, who spent his last 57 years in exile, to dedicate a festival to his multi-facetted work and his unusual biography.

Tickets € 15
Ticket sales opens on the 3th of April 2019.
Advance booking via email: info@jcom.de

in cooperation with


Back

MIECZYSŁAW WEINBERG-FESTIVAL: EXPEDITION #5

Montag, 20.5.19, 19:00 Uhr
Auditorium, NS-Dokumentationszentrum München

Mieczysław Weinberg-Festival
EXPEDITION #5: Mieczysław Weinberg
Ein moderiertes Kammerkonzert

Musiker des Jewish Chamber Orchestra Munich
MODERATION Daniel Grossmann

Im Rahmen der Expeditionen, unserer moderierten Kammerkonzertreihe in Kooperation mit dem NS-Dokumentationszentrum München, stellen Musiker des Jewish Chamber Orchestra einen kleinen Ausschnitt von Weinbergs riesigem kammermusikalischem Schaffen vor. Daniel Grossmann tauscht den Taktstock gegen das Mikrofon und erzählt Wissenswertes und Überraschendes aus Weinbergs Leben, seinem Werk und zu den gespielten Stücken.

MIECZYSŁAW WEINBERG-FESTIVAL
2010, nach der szenischen Uraufführung der Oper Die Passagierin, der Geschichte einer Holocaust-Überlebenden, die Mieczysław Weinberg bereits 1968 vertont hatte, ging ein Raunen durch die Musikwelt: Wie konnte dieser russische Komponist jüdisch-polnischer Abstammung nur so lange überhört werden? Weinberg ist inzwischen zwar immer wieder auf den Orchester- und Opernspielplänen zu finden, doch blieb ihm und seinem Œuvre die angemessene Beachtung verwehrt.
Dabei gehört Weinberg zu den wichtigsten Komponisten des 20. Jahrhunderts – diese Meinung teilte auch sein Freund und Mentor Dmitri Schostakowitsch. Weinberg war äußerst produktiv und vor allem enorm vielseitig: 154 seiner Werke sind erhalten, darunter Ballett-, Film- und Zirkusmusik, aber auch 22 Symphonien, vier Kammersymphonien und sechs Opern. Von einer einfachen Melodie mit anspruchsloser Begleitung bis hin zu komplizierter Zwölftonmusik –Experiment und Tradition schließen sich bei Weinberg nicht aus, er beherrschte alle musikalischen Formen, Gattungen und Stilrichtungen.
Das Jewish Chamber Orchestra Munich nimmt den 100. Geburtstag dieses brillanten Komponisten, der seine 57 letzten Jahre im Exil verbracht hat, zum Anlass, um seinem facettenreichen Werk und seiner ungewöhnlichen Biographie ein Festival zu widmen.

Karten

In Kooperation mit


Zurück